Anime Review: Squid Girl

sgGenre: Sci-fi/Comedy

Creator/Studio: Mashiro Anbe/Diomedea

Distributor: Media Blasters, also streams on Crunchy Roll

No of Episodes: 24, divided into two separate titles.  Because the titles are so similar to each other, (really the only difference is the first has  “!?” in the title, while the second has “!!” in the title.)I’m treating both as the same show.

Suggested Age: 7+

My Rating: 10/10

Summary: One day, a half-human, half- squid girl comes from the sea with plans to–you guessed it–take over the world.

mbisonThere’s just two problems. Firstly, no one takes her seriously.  Secondly, she has severe ADHD. Hilarity ensues.

Review: I chose to review this because I knew with the fact that I was reviewing a dark anime, I’d need a balance.  So I thought this would suffice.

The art style is cute.  Squid Girl won me over with her gleeful expressions. The animation was great.

Squid Girl is hilarious to watch. I love her hyperactive personality and how they incorporate the characteristics of squids into her personality. She spits ink. She can easily be swayed by her favorite food, shrimp.  She’s also scared of her enemies, which extends to even inner tubes shaped like killer whales or sharks.

The beach restaurant that Squid Girl works at in order to pay for wrecking it in the first episode provides for a great supporting cast.  First is Eiko Aizawa. She is constantly irritated by Squid Girl’s antics, but it’s hinted that she does care about her.

Chizuru, Eiko’s older sister, is not to be trifled with.  She possesses unheard-of strength and can actually break Squid Girl’s tentacles.

Rounding out the Aizawa family is Takeru, a spiky-haired boy.  He enjoys playing with Squid Girl, who initially considers him her minion.

There’s also some customers I can touch upon.  Two of my favorites are Cindy Campbell and Goro Arashiyama.  Cindy is a researcher of alien life who discovers Squid Girl early on.  She often comes up with ways to apprehend her for research, but they always fail.  She’s really the only antagonist Squid Girl has.

Goro is the lifeguard for the beach.  He’s dedicated to his job and tends to get riled up at Squid Girl.

I’m really glad I decided to give this a try. I recommend it to anyone who could use a good laugh.

Sub/Dub: I only watched the sub.

Music/Score: Very bright. I thought the first season opener was pretty good.

Violence: (1/10): Some slapstick here and there.

Language: (1/10)

Nudity: (1/10): There’s lots of bikini shots, but this is taking place on a beach, so it’s expected.

Sexuality: (0/10)

Religion: (0/10)

Related Media: This is based on the manga. There is also an OVA.

 

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment