Rideback

thLCR80TYZ

Genre: Sci-fi

Creator/Studio: Tetsurō Kasahara/Madhouse

Distributor: FUNimation

No. of Episodes: 12

Suggested Age: 13+

My Rating: 5/10

Summary: It is the year 2025, and an organization called GGP has taken over the world. The anime centers on Rin Ogata, a ballet dancer who is injured and learns of robotic motorcycles called Ridebacks that can help her get around. However, she learns that she is now targeted by the government.

Review: While I was looking for new anime to watch on Hulu, I saw the logo for this series, with Rin on her robotic motorcycle, and I thought, “Hm, only 12 episodes. Might be something to try.” I regret this decision.

First, the positives. I did like the animation. The world looked great and Rin was a unique idea.

Now, the negatives. My main problem is that it doesn’t seem to tell enough of its story. There’s very little reason, I thought, to care about Rin. Also, the story is only 12 episodes, and I felt that the ending, what little it was, just didn’t give any closure. I had no backstory as to why GGP had successfully taken over the world. I don’t normally like shows with less than 24 episodes, as they don’t often use their time wisely and rush the story as quickly as they can. This was no different. What disappoints me the most is that Madhouse is usually a good studio.

Music/Score: Pretty good theme music, but not much else.

Sub/Dub: I can’t comment here. Hulu only had two dub episodes, and to me that’s not enough to decide my opinion on a dub.

Language: (1/10) I think there were very few curse words.

Violence: (5/10) The accident that causes Rin to lose her ability to dance is intense.

Sexuality: (0/10)

Nudity: (0/10)

Religion: (0/10)

Related Media: This is based on the manga of the same name created by Tetsurō Kasahara.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

