Anime Review: Casshern Sins

casshernGenre: Sci-fi

Studio: Madhouse/Tatsunoko Productions

Distributor: FUNimation

No of Episodes: 24

Suggested Age: 17+

My Rating: 8/10

Summary: This is a reboot of the classic Tatsunoko anime Casshern. In this version, Casshern is an android suffering from amnesia in an apocalyptic environment. Other robots are constantly pursuing him because they believe devouring him will “end the ruin”, the rust that is plaguing the robots, except for Casshern.

Review: Before I go any further I should mention that I have not seen the original version of this, nor have I seen the previous attempt at a reboot Casshern: Robot Hunter.  So this review will not compare the new to the old.

The art style is very sleek.  It’s not something I’m used to, so I had trouble adjusting at first, but it eventually grew on me.

I thought Casshern was a great reluctant hero.  I’ve always felt that the best heroes aren’t the virtuous types, rather, they are the ones who do not wish to be heroes in the first place.  Casshern would clearly rather put back together what little memories he has, but he is forced to confront his past.

Accompanying Casshern are three allies. (four if you count the canine robot Friender). Ringo (a precocious girl who is the spirit of  childlike  innocence), Ohji (an old technician who acts as Ringo’s guardian), and Lyuze (an android who wants revenge because Casshern murdered Luna, an android who could have saved the world). Ringo does a great job of keeping the story from getting too bleak. Ohji was very down to earth and I liked his friendship with Casshern.  And Lyuze was a great companion as well. Yes the idea of a companion who starts out as an adversary is nothing new to anime, but I liked her inner conflicts and eventual loyalty.

Braiking Boss is the main villain. He is very tyrannical, and spends most of his time watching from afar.  He will do anything to maintain his base, even attempt to manipulate the one being who could save the world.

To sum things up, I enjoyed this story.  I felt that everything was paced well. It was a compelling story and I liked the feel of it.  This is worth a look, whether you’ve seen the original or not.

Sub/Dub: The dub was pretty good.  I thought Eric Vale was great in the title role.

Music/Score: Not bad. The opening and closing songs weren’t exceptional, but I didn’t think they were bad.

Violence: (7/10) Some graphic violence throughout, mostly involving androids.

Language: (2/10)

Sexuality: (0/10)

Nudity: (0/10)

Religion: (0/10)

  1. #1 by Goldy on January 13, 2013 - 10:09 pm

    Nice review! Casshern Sins is a great series and one that I personally enjoy watching still.
    Though I’m a bit sad you didn’t pick up on the excellent choices in the OP and ED of the series. But maybe you didn’t see the translations…

    The opening song questions one’s existence in this world (trans.: “Hey, why were we born? Hey, why did we meet?”) and the ED (“Reason”) answers in an interesting way (trans.: “Nobody knows the reason why, we know of love if it brings us pain. Nobody knows the place to go. But because the end is here do we still wish to meet?”)
    Then, the second ED is even better.
    (trans.: “I can never meet you again, I’ve said my goodbyes, but I’m sure I’ll come around. I’m still hesitating, somewhere. I’ve realized that your voice has always been guiding me, dissolving my doubts. From now on, will I always be going on, all alone? God, can you hear my voice?”)

    It’s a rare thing to come across so well suited openings and endings of a series, and especially since the songs speak to each other as if in conversation and not just complement the series.

    • #2 by rocklobsterjwt on January 14, 2013 - 4:27 pm

      I watched the dub on Adult Swim, so I didn’t get a chance to pick up on the nuances of the lyrics for the themes.

Leave a Reply

