Best Anime Themes

You’ve all probably noticed by now that I love to include the opening themes in my reviews. This is mostly because I feel that because they are part of the show, I should comment on them. There’s lots that I feel are the best. So, let’s take a look at some of them. This is in no particular order, and narrowed down to 10.

1. “Obsession”

Anime: .hack//sign

I think this is the first series that really made me like an opening. I just sat back in awe. The music was very atmospheric.

2. “Tank”

Anime: Cowboy Bebop

Of course I have to include this theme. My fans would just go nuts if I didn’t.

3. “HT”

Anime: Trigun

This just makes me want to crank out the air guitar.

3. “Just Communication”

Anime: Gundam Wing

Really sets the mood and gets you pumped for the show.

4. “The Light Before We Land”

Anime: Gunslinger Girl

One of the saddest anime I ever watched also has one of the saddest opening songs ever.

5. “Soramimi Cake”

This is just pure insanity, much like the show itself.

6. “Heroes Come Back”

Anime: Naruto Shippuden

Back when I actually cared what happened to that orange jumpsuit-wearing ninja, this was my favorite opening from the show.

7. “Battle Cry”

Anime: Samurai Champloo

This was the most unexpected opening for me. I’d heard that this show was about samurai, and hip-hop was the last thing I expected. But then, this whole anime was like that. One of these days I’ll get around to reviewing this.

8. “Sailor Moon Theme” (note: I don’t know the name of this one)

The show that turned many a kid into an anime fan in the 90’s. Why won’t Toei let us see it the way it was meant to be seen?

9. “Inner Universe”

I loved the melody, voice, and imagery. Guess what? I’m reviewing both seasons of this later this year.

10. “Hemisphere”

I think this was a great mood-setter. Its tempo and mystifying melody seemed to signal something great. I’m still glad I tried out this show.

This is only 10 of my favorite opening. I will do more of these some other time.

  1. #1 by medievalotaku on January 7, 2013 - 5:14 am

    That’s a great list. I especially liked hearing “Hemisphere” and “Just Communication.” For Gunslinger Girl, I enjoy the opening to the Il Teatrino season even more, which I find very addicting.

    • #2 by rocklobsterjwt on January 7, 2013 - 12:07 pm

      This is going to be an annual feature. I had planned to post it last week, but I was too tired from staying up all night. It was new years, after all.

  2. #3 by Denice on June 23, 2013 - 10:50 pm

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing for your
    feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

