Anime Review: Blood: The Last Vampire

Studio: Production I.G.

Distributor: Manga Video

Running Time: 48 minutes

Suggested Age: 17+

My Rating: 7/10

Summary:  (from the box) At the Yokota Air Force base in Japan, a nervous military is on the brink of the Vietnam War.  But a greater threat exists within the walls–vampires.  A team of top-secret undercover agents dispatches a mysterious young woman to destroy them…she is the last remaining original.

Review: Okay, this is going to be difficult for me. You see, I’ve set myself a 300-word minimum limit for each review.  The problem is that this is probably the shortest anime I’ve ever watched. So, here goes anything.

The animation is excellent.  It has this very good mix of both traditional cel-drawn animation and early CG. The animation may seem dated by today’s standards, but I disagree. The CG gives the anime a gritty, almost realistic feel.

The character designs are pretty good.  I thought the vampires were quite horrific, and I liked the fact that they were shape-shifters and even took human form.

Saya is an interesting heroine. Although I like her better in the “sequel” to this, Blood+, where she gets more depth.  But that’s because they have more time to develop her. Here, all we really need to know is that she was created for the sole purpose of killing these monsters. She can sense them and I think it’s hinted she can smell them. Killing is all she knows.

The story moves at a good pace. We are introduced to Saya right away and we see that she is all-business. She does not waste time and there is no wasted motion in her movements. In fact, she sees the humans threatened by the monsters a nuisance and only protects them because she’s ordered protects them.  because she’s ordered to do so.  As far as she’s concerned, they just get in the way. You can see this in how she treats the teacher who is caught in the vampires’ massacre.   She is irritated by how fearful the teacher is and quite a few times admonishes her for being a coward.

As you may have guessed, my main gripe is the time. I really feel this could’ve been another 45 minutes at least, instead of just 48.

Sub/Dub: There really isn’t a dub. The anime is in English, except for the characters who speak Japanese. (you can decide to subtitle the English or leave it alone) It seemed a bit unprofessional at times, but it wasn’t too bad.

Music/Score: Very atmospheric and well done.

Violence: (9/10) Saya rips through her prey with her sword, and it’s quite graphic. I had no problem because I expect this from a horror story.

Language: (1/10) Just one or two curse words.

Sexuality: (0/10)

Nudity: (0/10)

Religion: The story does take place on Halloween, but that’s it.

Related Media: There’s also two spin-off series: Blood+ (I highly recommend this series, even if you haven’t seen this movie) and Blood C. (which was just released on TV in Japan.) There’s also a manga and a live-action version.

  1. #1 by medievalotaku on October 25, 2012 - 2:04 am

    My comment after I had finished this film was “That’s it?” Even though I got this movie cheaply, I felt like I spent too much money on what should have been a rental. But, the action that we did have was very well done. The live action movie was done better than the anime.

    • #2 by rocklobsterjwt on October 25, 2012 - 11:43 am

      Have you seen Blood+? I highly recommend watching it. The whole thing’s on Hulu right now!

      • #3 by medievalotaku on October 25, 2012 - 11:14 pm

        I’ve seen it! One of my favorite long series, and definitely more fulfilling than the movie. I wouldn’t mind watching it again if I found the time.

  2. #4 by aghammer99 on March 30, 2013 - 2:12 am

    I thought this was a remarkable piece of anime… as you point out, the animation is spot on and adds to the gritty story. Blood+ is a fun recommended anime series although it’s very different than this “movie”… and yeah, it was far too short! Oh, looks like Blood C is available on hulu now… look forward to checking it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

