Anime Review: Trigun

Genre: Sci-fi/Western

Studio/Creator: Madhouse/Yatsuhiro Nightow

Distributor: FUNimation

No. of Episodes: 26

Suggested Age: 13+

My Rating: 10/10

Summary: On a distant desert-ridden planet, an outlaw known as Vash the Stampede has a $$60 billion bounty on his head.  Two insurance agents have been given the assignment to follow him and learn if he qualifies as a risk to their clients.

Review: This is one of my all-time favorites. I saw it when it first aired on Adult Swim and it was one of the first series I ever bought. I’m ecstatic that FUNimation has picked this show up.

The artwork is very good. I especially like the way the backdrops are designed, with skyscraper-like light bulbs powering Old West towns; widespread, forbidding deserts, and sparse civilization. You get the feeling that this is a largely unexplored world, which keeps up with the western theme.

I found Vash to be a very likable character almost instantly.  His screwball antics were a lot of fun to watch. Especially since it’s really a front.  I love the fact that he’s actually smarter than he seems. What really makes me like Vash is that he is a pacifist.  He truly wishes to help people overcome crises without resorting to violence.  He even takes time to be with children, and I really enjoyed those scenes because I knew he wanted to instill in them nonviolent ways to face the world. In many ways, Vash is very Christlike, especially in his preaches at the end of every episode. He wants to lead people to the light of peace and put a stop to the endless cycle of violence.

Another interesting character is Wolfwood, a Catholic priest who befriends Vash.  He feels that sometimes, violence is necessary. Vash will have none of this, and constantly calls Wolfwood out on his hypocrisy.  I thought this was a very good, positive treatment of a Christian who tries to have a positive outlook, and help people deal with crises, despite his views on violence. I feel this is a very honest portrayal, even though he has his faults.

Finally, there is Legato, the most present villain in the story.  While it’s clear that he is under orders, we also know this is something he chooses to do. He is one of my favorite villains, because is a completely evil, heartless man.  Even in the one scene where he actually does rescue some slves, it’s clearly not out of heroism. He only does it because he is annoyed by their owners.

This is a very thought-provoking series, and I feel every anime fan, especially Christian, should check it out.

Music/Score: The soundtrack for this series just plain rocks. You cannot resist playing air guitar to the opening. The droning guitar notes during the show enhances the western feel well.

Sub/Dub: I feel either version works.  The dub is fantastic.  Jeff Nimoy is just perfect for Wolfwood. And Legato’s voice is deliciously sinister.

Violence: (6/10) Lots of gun-related violence and pretty intense stuff all around.  This is not intended for children.

Language: 3/10

Sexuality: (4/10) There is a scene where prostitutes attempt to sleep with Vash, but nothing happens. Also, at times Vash leers at women, but he’s harmless. And there’s the aforementioned sex slaves.

Nudity: (1/10) Vash is forced to strip in one episode.

Religion: (1/10) As I stated, Wolfwood is a Catholic priest and very honestly portrayed. I don’t mind that he’s imperfect.

Related Media: This is based on a manga created by Yatsuhiro Nightow and published in America by Dark Horse.  There is also a movie called Trigun: Badlands Rumble.

Trivia: Yatsuhiro Nightow is a confirmed Marvel Comics fan. His character Monev the Gale is modeled after Spider-man’s villain Venom. (Monev is even Venom spelled backward.

 

  1. #1 by Cameron Lee Irby on August 12, 2012 - 1:36 pm

    I love this series! It was the first anime I actually bought, & it remains as one of my all time favorites. I thought it was interesting because Vash is the only character who wants to solve things without a gunfight. My girlfriend, on the other hand, thought that all of the villains (except Legato & Knives) felt random and misplaced. I kind of have that same feeling, especially when it involves the Nebraska family. All in all, Trigun feels like a western DBZ.

  2. #2 by rocklobsterjwt on August 12, 2012 - 7:32 pm

    If you read the manga, the story makes a little more sense. I should point out that the anime does get some influence from the manga. In fact, many of the events happen in a different order in the manga. I never finished it, but I did enjoy the manga version quite a bit.

  1. Spirituality in the Anime Blogosphere: Wisdom of Heartseed, Ghibli in Catholic Magazine, and Christianity in Evangelion, Trigun, and FMA: Brotherhood «

Leave a Reply

