Anime Review: Tenchi Muyo GXP

Genre: Sci-fi/Comedy

Studio: AIC

Distributor: FUNimation, also streams on Hulu.

No. of Episodes: 26

Suggested Age: 16+

My Rating: 3/10

Summary: Seina Yamada is the unluckiest boy ever. And now he’s really got problems–he’s been drafted by the Galaxy Police!

Review: To anyone who actually liked this show–I apologize. I did not.  The animation was good. But the jokes were terrible.  The most disappointing thing was that Tenchi only showed up in one episode, despite the fact that the show bears his name.  But the biggest annoyance is Seina. I could not stand him!  His voice is terrible, the unlucky jokes were only funny once, and there was too much fan service.   This was nothing like what I like Tenchi Muyo for. In short, I wasted my time with this, and I suggest you skip it too.

Sub/Dub: I was only able to watch the dub. It was okay at best. I really wish they chose a different voice for Seina.

Music/Score: This was really the only thing I liked. Both the opening and closing songs were catchy, especially since the dub version had special dubbed versions of them.

Violence: 3/10–Mostly done for laughs.

Language: 2/10

Nudity: 6/10–LOTS of fan service. Especially in the closing.

Sexuality: 5/10–very crude sexual humor, mostly from MP, a robot who just loves to peek in on the female officers in various states of undress.

Religion: 1/10–The planet Jurai has a nature-based religion similar to Shintoism.

 

  1. #1 by The Cajun Samurai on July 22, 2012 - 5:06 pm

    I would really like to talk to the Casting Director for the english dub on this project to find out who the heck made the decision to cast “Izzy” as Ryoko…

Leave a Reply

