Anime Review: The World God Only Knows

(Note: This review covers both seasons.)

Genre: Fantasy/Comedy

Studio/Creator: Manglobe/Tamiki Wakiki (manga), Mamizu Arizawa (light novel)

Distributor: Sentai Filmworks, also streams legally on Crunchy Roll.

Suggested Age: 13

My Rating: 7/10

Summary: Keita is a boy who would rather play virtual novels on his PFP than actually pay attention in class. One day, he meets a demon named Elsie who sets up a contract with him. Now he must help her retrieve “loose souls” that have possessed people, causing them to act contrary to their true natures.

Review: This was recommended to me by a friend I had met online.  I have to say it was slightly above average.  The animation was nice, and I laughed at most of the jokes, especially how nerdy Keima was.

However, I had two problems. First, Elsie was pretty annoying. She was a ditz and her ADHD was unamusing at best. I also didn’t like how the final episode ended. There was no sense of closure; the story just–well–stopped. I still thought it wasn’t necessarily bad, I just didn’t enjoy it enough to give it anything above 7.

Dub/Sub: I only watched the sub.

Music/Score: The music was good. I liked both opening themes a lot, but the ending themes were only okay.

Violence: (3/10) Most of the violence is slapstick.

Language: (2/10) Mild at best.

Nudity: (1/10) In one episode, in order to keep up the facade that they are siblings, Elsie tries to take a bath with Keiba.

Sexuality: When Keita’s mother falls for Elsie’s ploy that they are siblings, she thinks her husband has cheated on her and immediately divorces him. There are also a few mild sex jokes.

Religion: (2/10) Elsie seems more like a trickster than an evil demon.

Related Media: There is a manga and a light novel.

  1. #1 by Cameron Lee Irby on April 8, 2012 - 6:41 pm

    I saw this one a while back, and I have to say that season 2 was a LOT better than Season 1. I enjoyed how the series parodies the various anime-romance stereotypes, but S2 was where the series shined. It not only gave the series an actual identity; it gave it a bit of heart. This is actually a pretty good review for this series, and I commend you, sir!

    A word of advice: The protagonist’s name is KEIMA, not Keiba or Keita.

    • #2 by rocklobsterjwt on April 9, 2012 - 11:17 am

      I did watch both seasons, btw. I said so in the review.

      • #3 by sweetpea616 on April 9, 2012 - 1:15 pm

        Ah! You need to put that in bold, because I missed that statement as well, and thought you were only reviewing the first season.

  2. #4 by sweetpea616 on April 8, 2012 - 6:46 pm

    “I also didn’t like how the final episode ended. There was no sense of closure; the story just–well–stopped.”

    This is probably because there’s a second season. They made the last episode filler since they couldn’t animate an arc in one episode, and would have to wait for the second season.

    • #5 by Cameron Lee Irby on April 8, 2012 - 8:15 pm

      If I recall correctly, the last episode actually happens in the manga, but at different times than in the anime. (They happen in between the arcs, not after.)

      • #6 by rocklobsterjwt on April 9, 2012 - 11:16 am

        I see, they pulled a Berserk on us. The story was too big for the anime.

      • #7 by sweetpea616 on April 9, 2012 - 1:18 pm

        @ Cameron- Well, that’s part of why I label it as ‘filler’. It might happen, but it doesn’t add anything to the story.

        @ Rocky – Yeah, that’s pretty much it. The fans would have been furious if they had made up their own ending since the manga is still ongoing, so it’s a no-win situation.

Leave a Reply

