Lobster Quadrille Anime Review: Ouran High School Host Club

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Studio/Creator: Bones/Bisco Hatori

Distributor: FUNimation, also legally streams on Hulu and Youtube

Suggested Age: 13+

My Rating: 9/10

Summary: When Haruhi accidentally breaks a vase belonging to her private school’s host club, they declare her indebted to them. She is forced to join the club, and does so as a host–despite the fact that only boys can be hosts. Will her secret be discovered by the patrons?

Review: This show is every bit as good as you’ve heard.  The color palette is beautiful, and I really like the soft character designs.  I really enjoyed how out of control things got, and I couldn’t stop laughing.  Haruhi’s personality really won me over–particularly her assertive nature.  She had great chemistry with all the hosts and her sarcastic comments made it fun.

Okay, but if I truly enjoyed it, why do I feel it doesn’t deserve a 10? Well, first there’s Renge.  I HATED her! Her annoying laugh, her manipulations, her crazy entrance–there was noting I could enjoy about this waste of space. And what’s really annoying is that she had such potential. She was built up as a great antagonist, but then they kept making her so annoying. Thankfully, she’s only a minor character.

My next problem is the HUGE amount of filler. This is only a 26 episode series, did we really need that much? Some of it was fine–for example, the flashbacks into the hosts’ pasts, particularly Tamaki and the twins, really made them better characters than I initially thought (and the twins really creeped me out at first.) And the subplot with that all-girls school trying to win Haruhi over was good too. If it had been more of the story than it was, that would’ve been great. But there was some stuff that I really think was unnecessary. For instance, did we really need an Alice in Wonderland spoof? REALLY?

But, actually, my problems could be overlooked. The show is really good. I think if you like a good romantic comedy, give it a shot. Even if you’re a guy, this might be your thing. In fact, I’ve heard quite a few male friends of mine were actually fans of it.

Music/Score: I thought the opening theme was actually pretty good. It got stuck in my head real quick, and that’s often how I judge how good the themes are–if they stay with me after I’m done watching an episode. If they aren’t memorable, they don’t work. The closing didn’t really do anything for me, though.

Sub/Dub: Sorry, I was unable to fully invest myself in the dub because Hulu didn’t have the amount of dub episodes I needed.  But from what I heard and from what fans have told me, it was pretty good. Vic Mignogna is hilarious as Tamaki and Caitlin Glass is perfect as Haruhi.

Violence: (1/10): Only slapstick here. (There are a lot of banana-slipping gags.)

Language: (1/10): Not too bad here.

Sexuality: First of all, there’s Haruhi’s attempts at dressing like a boy, but that’s really as far as she goes. She really just seemed like a tomboy to me. And then there’s the twins. BRRR! They were just…creepy.  A lady friend on the Internet told me that yes, some girls do find boys pretending to be gay attractive. But these are twins. All I could think was “eww!”

Nudity: (1/10) I saw one or two scenes with Haruhi in her bra and panties.

Religion: (0/10)

Related Media: There’s also a manga published by Viz.

, ,

  1. #1 by sweetpea616 on January 9, 2012 - 2:24 am

    If you’re complaining about the Alice in Wonderland spoof, then you completely missed the point of that episode. That was pretty much the turning point in realizing how much she loved the Host Club and `was moving on from grienving about her mother- feeling it was okay to let go and and mess around and have fun, since she had to grow up and take care of her father once her mother passed away. It was roundabout and strange, in the way real life dreams are, but the ending made the whole thing clear.

    So besides that episode, I’m not quite sure what you mean by the statement ‘most of the episodes are filler’. They all build and develop the relationships between Haruhi and the club members. If they cut those out, you’d have a lot of drama-filled episodes without a background on how they normally act and why and how they become invested in one another, which would miss the point of this being a comedy. In fact, the point of the show is to be filler, but with little things in each episode that show how all the relationships are growing and developing- sometimes even in the most pointless of epsiodes.

    Also- I love the opening for Ouran- just not the English version. I like Caitlin Glass as a voice actress, but her singing is off-key and really just not up to the Japanese version.

  2. #2 by aghammer99 on March 29, 2013 - 3:07 pm

    I watched this one because my daughter wanted too and she LOVED it (of course), not really my thing and yeah, the twins… gag. It’s worth a watch for a fun like Anime series.

Leave a Reply

