Lobster Quadrille Anime Review: Rahxephon

Note: This is part of a series of reviews I call Memory Lane. It’s where I look at a title I’ve rewatched more than once to see if it’s really worth rewatching.

Title: Rahxephon

Genre: Sci-fi/Mecha/Action

Distributor: ADV

Creator/Studio: Yutaka Izubuchi/Bones

No. of Episodes: 26

 Summary: This anime focuses on Ayato Kamina, a 17-year old high school student who has been living in a false environment called Tokyo Jupiter. He is guided outside Tokyo Jupiter by a mysterious girl who resembles a classmate and is soon thrust into a war that he does not want to participate in nor understand. He pilots the Rahxephon, a godlike robot that uses sound-based attacks against giant robots called Dolems, which are controlled by human-like aliens called Mu who shed blue blood.

Review: I love this anime! It is one of the most beautiful titles I have ever watched, and one of the best characterized.  Each character is more than he/she appears on the surface. Just when you think you’ve understood a character, another layer is often revealed. For instance, Ayato seems to be someone who’d rather be  a pacifist. But when he discovers someone he wishes to protect, he becomes a good fighter, despite the fact that he clearly does not wish to participate in the war. Another favorite character of mine is Megumi Shitow. She seems like a cheerful teenager, but under the surface is someone who is unsure of her abilities and purpose. Overall, the anime has a mystery feel to it, and you just want to sit back and watch so you can see if you can develop your own theories about what is going on.

Music/Score: Music plays a big part in the story. The music in the show is very pretty to listen to. The opening and closing are among my all-time favorite opening themes.

Sub/Dub: Either way works excellent. This is one of the best dubs ever!

Violence: (7/10) Some bloody moments, but nothing truly graphic

Language: (2/10) Some mild language, but nothing above PG-13.

Sexuality:  (3/10) I heard some suggestive dialog, but nothing above that.

Nudity: (3/10) Some symbolic mild nudity. There are some scenes where a girl named Quon is seen in somewhat revealing clothes, but it’s actually a plot point rather than fanservice.

Drugs/Tobacco: (3/10) Two women are very heavy drinkers.

Religion: (4/10) Some references to the Mayan calendar toward the end.

Related Media: There is a movie and a manga based on the anime.

Rewatch Value: ***** Yes, this is definitely a title that must be rewatched to truly understand its depth. Every time I watch it, I discover something new.  It has various layers.

,

  1. #1 by Jordan on September 16, 2011 - 12:05 pm

    I’m watching only anime movies now for the most part. Is the movie clean?

    • #2 by Nicole Kiser on October 22, 2011 - 8:51 pm

      I really really don’t recommend watching the movie. It tries condensing the entire series into less than two hours, uses a lot of clips from the series, and has a different ending. 😦

      • #3 by aghammer99 on March 29, 2013 - 2:50 pm

        I agree completely… I highly recommend the series and NOT the movie.

  2. #4 by rocklobsterjwt on September 16, 2011 - 1:02 pm

    I have yet to watch the movie, so I can’t comment. Sorry.

  3. #5 by alma on September 17, 2011 - 5:08 pm

    Cool! rocklobster can now show us some videos too. Nice.
    Probably is going to be easier that way to get the ideas across. Maybe I say that because I am a visual learner : )

  4. #6 by eternalneko on October 2, 2011 - 9:56 pm

    I’m actually interested in this series. Where can I get it legally? God bless you rocklobster, my RP buddy! (Guess who I am on CAA)

    • #7 by rocklobsterjwt on October 4, 2011 - 1:58 am

      It’s available from ADV. At present, there’s no way to watch it legally online.
      I’m terrible at guessing so could you tell me who you are on CAA?

  5. #8 by Amanda on October 4, 2011 - 7:19 am

    TheMewster 😀 God bless!

Leave a Reply

